Girl smile


Wellness is often used as an umbrella term to describe a state of optimal health.

In 1976, Bill Hettler, the Co-founder of the National Wellness Institute (NWI), created the Six Dimensions of Wellness.  Hettler’s model focuses on an integrated approach to wellness.

Many of us may analyze one’s ‘health’ based on two components: Diet and Exercise.  In contrast, based on Hettler’s model, wellness is defined by six equal areas of our life: Physical, Occupational, Social, Intellectual, Spiritual, and Emotional.

Achieving wellness is about finding balance in these 6 key areas.


Here are some examples of the 6 areas:

(1) Physical – e.g. exercise, nutrition, and healthy habits
(2) Occupational – e.g. employment, skills, finances, balance, and satisfaction
(3) Social – e.g. relationships, community interactions, respect, and healthy independence
(4) Intellectual – e.g. creativity, mental challenge, critical thinking, commitment to learn, and curiosity
(5) Spiritual – e.g. meaning of life, awareness of the unexplained, and values
(6) Emotional – e.g. feelings, emotions, reactions, and cognition


With love,

Cecilia Or

Always Remember W.H.Y.

Be Well Be Happy Be You